top of page
  • Writer's pictureHela.zargouni

A guide to Must-read books.

Updated: Sep 25, 2018

While scrolling through different web pages, I come across a lot of "must-read lists" for books, but not all of them turn out to be real ones. This definition depends from reader to reader. So, instead of naming books. Let me help you tell which books are potential "Must-reads" for you.

To me, a "Must-read" book is a book that will change my life forever. A book that will mark my journey forever. Not any book can have that affect, though.

So, here are a few ways I could think of to help you decide which books are a "Must-read" for you.


Know what you want


What do you expect from the book you want to read ?

As simple as it sounds, that is the right question to ask !

Many things can affect my choice of the next book I wanna read. Sometimes, when I have just finished a biography I find myself in the mood to read books that tell me more about the era that the main character lived in. Other times, I finish a novel and I wanna get more real so I want to move to a life-style book. So, just ask yourself what do you want to read.

BTW, you can take a Quiz here : https://bookriot.com/2018/03/27/what-book-should-i-read-quiz/


So, if you want something fun and entertaining, something that will give you chills, something that will warm up your heart and make you all dreamy, or something that will change your daily life. that is up to you !


What is your favorite type of books ?


Maybe you like fiction ? Maybe you're an old school person? Maybe you like fantasy or science fiction ? Maybe you're novel person ? or more of life-style reader ?

The first step to knowing the books you'd want to read, is knowing which book category is closer to the reader in you.

Books can be divided into two categories:

  • Non fiction: Biographies are the most obvious type of non fiction books

  • Fiction: Most of the written books are a work of fiction where the author made up the story.

Of course, we can devide these two categories into sub-types such as:

  • Science fiction

  • Drama

  • Action and Adventure

  • Romance

  • Religion and spiritual

  • Biographies

  • Autobiographies

  • Diaries

  • Fantasy

  • Horror

  • Mystery

  • Life-Style

  • Scientific

So, ask yourself "what type are you more in the mood to read?".


Reading reviews

Stating the obvious

I know this might be a "stating-the-obvious" case, but I used to often forget that. Now, in order to tell if I am really gonna like that book, I read different review to see its affect on other readers. That usually helps me decide if it will be worth my time or not.


Ask a friend

Do you share the same taste in books with a besty ?

A friend is always a good reviewer. Especially, if you both share the same taste. If you are in a book club or just share the passion for late night pages of good stories with a friend, you should share the titles to books you have enjoyed. No reviewer can be more honest than one who knows what you want already.

13 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page